Home Straight

If you are one of my new subscribers from Southampton, welcome! You will already know that the home straight has begun: last weekend I moved back up to Bradford from Southampton. As a hoarder by nature, one of the things that hammered home the nearness of moving was sorting my things into “taking to Uganda,” “will use over the next 2-3 months” and “find the kindest/most environmentally friendly way to dispose of”- the final category not being a particularly well-rehearsed one in my head! Getting the first box sealed and ready to ship though was an exciting antidote to any uneasiness I was feeling, as was realising that I won’t need to have 24 little Uganda flags dotted around my room to remind me of home soon because I’LL BE THERE AT LAST!!!

Back in the UK though, apparently, I couldn’t quite get enough of the M1 so I’m actually heading down to London for the weekend (yes, from Bradford, yes when I lived in Southampton until four days ago). Aside from the North-South jokes, it’s really all part of starting how I mean to go on: making time to spend with friends and people that I haven’t seen in too long and won’t get to see again for ages either!

Thus begins how I at least, envision the summer panning out, condensed into a week: organising practicalities and paperwork (who knew how long registering a change of address on car insurance could take!); seeing family and friends; and finding rest in between.

Leave a comment